Krzysztof Kieślowski awards and nominations

09 December 2015

Awards and nominations

I hope Poland is part of Europe – said Krzysztof Kieślowski on the 26th of November 1988 in Berlin, while receiving – the first in history – the Felix European Film Award for „A Short Film About Killing”. Almost four decades later Kieślowski is renowned not just in Europe, but the whole world – he is considered a part of a small group of artists who left their mark on world cinema. He also won numerous awards and distinctions, awarded to him across the world.

The European Film Award is not the only award given in Berlin. At a Berlin festival „Three Colors: White” was awarded the Silver Bear for Best Director (1994), and earlier „Camera Buff” won the Evangelical Grand Jury Award (1980). During the next European Awards ceremony in 1994 the trilogy „The Colors” was nominated for the title of best film of the year.

The most famous festival in the world awarded "A Short Film About Killing" (1988), and three years later, "The Double Life of Veronique" earned Irene Jacob a leading actress award and a FIPRESCI prize for the film.

Grand Prix "Golden Hugo" at the International Film Festival in 1980 for "Camera Buff".

At the Polish Film Festival in Gdańsk Krzysztof Kieślowski made his debut in 1976 with the movie "The Scar" (Special Jury Prize and award for the role of Franciszek Pieczka), and in the television film category - "Personnel" (Grand Prize and the journalists prize). Three years later „Camera Buff” won the Golden Lions, with award-winning performance by Jerzy Stuhr. In 1981, the Special Jury Prize was won by the banned movie "The Calm" (1976).

After moving the national festival to Gdynia, Kieślowski entered the competition in 1987, with the banned "Blind Chance", for which he received the award for (butchered by the censors) scenario, and Boguslaw Linda won the award for the leading role. The following year was a great triumph for the director: Golden Lions for his two "Short Films"! in addition, "A Short Film About Love" nominated for the roles of Grazyna Szapołowska and Stanislawa Iwinska, and "A Short Film About Killing" - for the screenplay, written jointly with Krzysztof Piesiewicz.

At the festival Stars of Tomorrow "A Short Film About Love" Kieślowski was awarded for best director, while Olaf Lubaszenko for his role (1989).

Since the year 2000, the Radio and Television Department of the Silesian University is named after Krzysztof Kieślowski, one of its professors.

Carl-Johan Sonig prize, sponsored by the University of Copenhagen, for his contribution to European culture, 1994.

The TV movie „Personnel” won the Grand Jantar prize at the Koszalin Film Youth Meetings, and in 1979 one of the main prizes was awarded for „Camera Buff”.

After a few minor awards at the short film festival in Krakow, Kieślowski presented "First Love," which won the Golden Hobby-Horse in the national competition and the Golden Dragon in the international competition (1974), and a year later he won the Brown Hobby Horse and Warsaw Journalist Mermaid for "Curriculum Vitae", in 1977 "Hospital" won in the international competition, and in 1979 "From A Night Porter's Point Of View" and "Seven Women of Different Ages" won the Polish competition.

Among the nominees for awards from the British Academy of Film and Television in 1995 were the creator of the "Three Colors: Red" in the film of the year and screenplay categories. Krzysztof Kieślowski was nominated for the David Lean award for directing. In 1990 he was accepted as a honorary member of the British Film Institute.

Los Angeles
Here candidates for the Oscar are nominated: "Three Colors: Red" was nominated for best director, screenplay and cinematography (1995). He was also nominated for a Golden Globe Award for Foreign Language Film. Along with the Oscar nominations, he was accepted into the American Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.

The oldest Polish festival of feature films awarded Krzysztof Kieślowski numerous times. Here he received the Golden Grapes for „The Scar” (1978) and „Personnel” (1979), as well as the Don Kichoty awards – awarded by the film society – for „Personnel” (1976) and „No End” (1985).

The Andrzej Munk Prize, awarded by the Lodz Film School, for the movie „Personnel” (1975), and previous wins short film festivals.

The Grand Prix of Mannheim and the Catholic Film Award at the International Film Festival for "Personnel" in 1975.

Here in 1979, the jury awarded the Gold Medal for the film "Camera Buff", and the journalists awarded Kieślowski with the FIPRESCI prize. Eight years later soviet filmmakers allowed the banned movie „Blind Chance” to premiere in Russia.

New York
NY critics from the National Society of Film Critics have distinguished "The Double Life of Veronique" (1991) and "The Decalogue" (2000).

„From a Night Porter's Point of View” was awarded the Silver Sesterce at the International Short Film Festival.

In Paris winners of the Caesars are announced by the French Academy Awards. In 1994 „Three Colors: Blue” and „Three Colors: Red” where nominated for best picture, writing and directing. Juliette Binoche won best actress and Zbigniew Preisner for his music for „Blue”.

Krzysztof Kieślowski (together with Krzysztof Piesiewicz) won the prestigious Italian Premio Flaiano award (named after the co-writer of "La Strada", "La Dolce Vita" and "8 ½") for "The Decalogue" screenplays in 1990.

The European Film Awards where awarded in Rome for the 15th time: Kieślowski and Piesiewicz where nominated for their screenplay for „Heaven”, 2002.

Sao Paulo
Kieślowski charmed the Brazilians with "A Short Film about Love" – he was awarded the audience prize, and the critics awarded the "The Decalogue" in 1989.

San Sebastian
"A Short Film About Love" won the Special Jury Prize in San Sebastian, OCIC and FIPRESCI awards (1988), a year later the OCIC Catholic Jury awarded the "The Decalogue".

Santa Monica
Not far from Los Angeles, the Film Independent Foundation is headquartered, which each year awards the Independent Spirit Awards. In 1991, the statuette for best film was awarded to Krzysztof Kieślowski for "The Double Life of Veronique".

"Bible and Culture Foundation” Award for the timeliness of themes, and above all for "The Decalogue", 1994.

Grand Prix for the "Three Colors: Red" at the International Film Festival in 1995.

It all started here, from the award for „The Office” at the Lodz Film School short film festival, organized by the Zygzakiem film society, 1967. Here Krzysztof Kieślowski was awarded by „Film” magazine readers – the Golden Ducks (four times) and the Golden Reel by critics from the Polish section of the FIPRESCI (three times), as well as the Golden Screens awarded by the weekly magazine „Ekran” („Screen”) (for „The Calm” 1981 and „The Decalogue” 1990). In Warsaw, he was awarded the prestigious Drożdze'76 award by the weekly magazine "Polityka”, and twice - Diplomas of the Polish Minister of Foreign Affairs for outstanding contributions to the promotion of Poland worldwide. Here, too, at the residence of the French ambassador he was awarded the Order of Arts and Letters, awarded by the French Minister of Culture (1993).

"Three Colors: Blue" was triumphant at the Lido festival, winning the Golden Lion, the OCIC Award and an award for cinematography by Slawomir Idziak, 1993. Previously "The Decalogue" won the FIPRESCI Prize in Venice (1989).

Opr. Konrad J. Zarębski



Financed with subsidy of The Ministry of Culture and National Heritage of Poland